Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 Running the Realms
 Elven vs Netherese Shadar-Kai
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

MandarinB
Acolyte

USA
28 Posts

Posted - 04 Feb 2022 :  23:41:08  Show Profile Send MandarinB a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
I'm pretty new to D&D, having been introduced a year or so again through 5th Edition. Since then I've fallen in love with the Realms, and I've found little topics and edition lore differences to entertain myself. Most of the times I can ignore old and incompatible lore (such as all the cool Infravision stuff for the drow that doesn't matter any more), but one race origin that is much harder to ignore for me is the different origins of 4E's Netherese Shadar-Kai and 5E's Elven subrace Shadar-Kai. How do you guys differentiate between the two?

I mean, according to what I've read, the Netherese Shadar-Kai are a pretty important part to the lore of the returned Shade Empire, with the name 'Shadar-Kai' meaning "Those of Shadow's Gift" in Netherese. They're a cool concept for a planetouched shadowfell race.

Then you have 5E's Shadar-Kai, who were elves who attempted to help the Raven Queen in stopping the war between Araushnee/Lolth and Corellon from tearing the Seldarine apart. These elves also called themselves Shadar-Kai, though I can't find their reason for doing so other than this being the most recent origin of the race.

How do you reconcile both Shadar-Kai existing in the Realms when they have vastly different origins? A part of me just wants to give the Elven Shadar-Kai a new name and let the Netherese ones be "Shadar-Kai", but I wanted to hear how other DMs have differentiated the two races, if they have at all.

Ayrik
Great Reader

Canada