Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Products
 Forgotten Realms Novels
 Thoughts on editing
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Mace Hammerhand
Great Reader

Germany
2296 Posts

Posted - 11 Mar 2006 :  09:53:49  Show Profile  Visit Mace Hammerhand's Homepage Send Mace Hammerhand a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
I'm a nitpicker, a hair splitter, in short a perfectionist. At least when it comes to stories/novels. As a writer I pay a whole lot of attention to the mistakes *I* make in my own work. Sometimes, of course, especially if you are too close to the trees to see the burning forest, you cannot see the mistakes you made. That's where my beta-readers come in.
I think most writers have beta-readers who point out mistakes before the thing goes 'online'. Sometimes there is definitely no love lost between me and my beta-readers, after all THEY TRY TO KILL MY BABY!!!

As a good friend, who is one of my beta-readers, pointed out to me, she doesn't try to kill my baby, she just saw an extra arm, leg and head to the thing that I plainly overlooked because it was, in my eyes, such a beautiful sight to behold.
She was right, and believe me it took some heavy argueing to make me see it.

An editor is, in some cases should be, the über-beta-reader. The voice of (whatever) god (you might believe in). They are trained to see such extra arms, or legs, or heads.

Sometimes I feel that they edit too much, and sometimes I fear that they edit too little.