Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Forgotten Realms Journals
 General Forgotten Realms Chat
 Question re: one-way portal detection and analysis
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 4

Returnip
Learned Scribe

221 Posts

Posted - 24 Nov 2020 :  18:59:13  Show Profile Send Returnip a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
Hello. I've been browsing this website and the forums for many years and finally decided to make an account. I've mainly played and DM'd 3 and 3.5 ed and I'm absolutely enamored with Forgotten Realms. One of the biggest issues I've had is the time wasted traveling from place to place in the realms for longer campaigns, and while teleport is nice and all the portals of Faerûn is so flavourful, which leads me to my question.

How would you rule the detection and analysis of the end point of a one-way portal would work? I see three possible scenarios:

1. It doesn't work.

2. It only works while the portal is active.

3. It works all the time just like the detection and analysis of the entry point of the portal.

Using analyze portal the last function is a glimpse of the portal's destination. Would you be able to glimpse the origin of a one-way portal assuming you managed to use analyze portal on it?

Looking forward to reading your thoughts and opinions on this.

EDIT: Oh, and if any of you know of any source book ruling I'm obviously interested in that too!

On the other hand you have different fingers.

Edited by - Returnip on 24 Nov 2020 19:01:11

cpthero2
Great Reader

USA
2285 Posts

Posted - 24 Nov 2020 :  19:22:38  Show Profile  Visit cpthero2's Homepage Send cpthero2 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Acolyte Returnip,

quote: