Candlekeep Forum
Candlekeep Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Realmslore
 RPG News & Releases
 Pathfinder Kingmaker Adventure Path
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Ashe Ravenheart
Great Reader

USA
3240 Posts

Posted - 18 Mar 2010 :  05:04:24  Show Profile Send Ashe Ravenheart a Private Message  Reply with Quote  Delete Topic
Yes, kiddies, the newest adventure path has been released. I have my subscriber PDF and am eagerly awaiting the physical book as we speak (not to mention the NPC Guide that I ordered as well...).

Paizo is taking a different track on this Adventure Path. It's not as 'rail-road-y' as previous paths, and allows for more exploration and freedom for the players. In fact, it basically opens up with the players all arriving in the village with a charter that tells them to 'strive against banditry and other unlawful behavior to be encountered'. The inside covers has wanted posters and 'side-quests' that the characters can do if they want, but have no real bearing on story (except for the gratitude of the townsfolk). And the story itself is very non-linear (much like the Shadowdale: Scouring of the Land adventure was).

Of course, I would be extremely remiss if I didn't mention that each of the six-part adventure path have a monster designed by our esteemed Mr. Greenwood (starting with the Thawn or "Mud Giant"). There's also a familiar beastie called a Carbuncle to throw at the players.

But, what really got my inner grognard smiling are the geographical maps which have been done in a nostalgic Hex Grid. I swear, seeing a hex map for overland travel shot me right back to when I was around 10 and ran Isle of Dread for my little brother. (Is it a TPK if there's only one player?)